Home

Browse

GameSkinny


Search

Login

Sony Announces (More) PSN Maintenance on Thursday, January 15th

Sony announces that maintenance for the PlayStation Network will take place this Thursday, January 15th, from 9am PT/12pm ET to 1pm PT/4pm ET.

If you've been playing your PS4, PS3, or Vita over the last several weeks, then you're more than aware of all the issues PSN has been having.

Sony has received a lot of hate due to the PlayStation Network being down for several days over the holiday break, and they continued to have several issues once PSN was up and running again. Such issues have included messages not working, downloads being slower than normal, the PlayStation Store taking forever to load, and some of us have even suffered from data corruption on our PS4s. 

Maintenance will begin at 9am PT/12pm EST

The PlayStation Network status page still shows a "Heavy Network Traffic" warning, and Sony announced earlier this morning that PSN maintenance will begin again on Thursday, January 15th. The maintenance is being done to add a series of back-end improvements to the network, and will begin at 9am PT/12pm ET. 

During the maintenance period, the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, and Account Management will not be available; however, those who have logged onto the PlayStation Network any time prior to October 8th will be able to play games online and access partner apps, such as Netflix.

The maintenance will last approximately four hours, ending around 1pm PT/4pm ET, but there may be some additional downtime after the maintenance period for testing purposes. 

Published Jan. 17th 2015

Cached - article_comments_article_18865
Related