Rockstar VP Talks About Grand Theft Auto Online

Rockstar Vice President Dan Houser explains the reasoning behind GTA Online release date.

Grand Theft Auto 5 has taken the world by storm! I don’t think there exists a gamer that hasn’t played (or at least seen the 24 million tweets about it) the open world action-adventure game.

Grand Theft Auto Online

Since the release of the single player story just two short weeks ago, Rockstar is making way for the release of Grand Theft Auto Online The online mode is expected to take the free-roam and exploration elements from the single player and make playing with friends even easier.  The Vice President of Rockstar, Dan Houser, stated in a recent interview that the goal of the multiplayer is to “[try to] glue the whole thing together by bringing the free roam component to life, which would give us the stuff that we really like from open world.”

He also stated that bringing multiplayer into the hands of consumers a few weeks later than the single player helps them get used to the scene of the game and helps them become interested in the multiplayer in order to give it a fair shake even if you are more of a story-driven single player type of gamer. 

“You can start multiplayer after two weeks and it will really give them a real focus on where to look at the thing. I think that separating it out will just help people look at it as different products in their own mind a bit more and really give it a good chance to try and play it and enjoy it.”

Grand Theft Auto Online will be available on October 1st, 4 AM Pacific/5 AM Mountain/6 AM Central/7 AM Eastern. Considering the success the game has already had, GTA Online is bound to be a popular source of entertainment for the next couple of years.

If you have played Grand Theft Auto 5 tell me what you’re most excited to see in GTA Online! What components do you think are going to transfer well from single player to multiplayer?

Published Oct. 1st 2013
View Comments

New Cache - article_comments_article_8839
More Grand Theft Auto Online Content

GameSkinny Newsletter

Get Grand Theft Auto Online news the moment it happens!

You have been successfully subscribed to this newsletter.