Home

Browse

GameSkinny


Search

Login

GOG.com launches its Big Winter Sale

Good old games are getting good prices this holiday season.

The DRM-free online game retailer, GOG.com recently launched their Big Winter Sale that will offer over 500 deals across a plethora of games with discounts up to 90% off. The sale will feature bundles and deals that will change out every 24 hours, so if you've got a huge wish list that you've been waiting to conquer, keep checking back to see which games are being discounted.

Currently, the headliner bundles are the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Pack, which features 3 games, Shadow of Chernobyl, Clear Sky and Call of Pripyat all from the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. series and the Citybuilder Kit, which has four games, Caesar 3, Pharoah + Cleopatra, Zeus + Poseidon (Acropolis) and Children of the Nile. 

Other majors deals currently going on include:

If none of these deals pique your interest, you can take a small gamble on one of many $3 Mystery Games, whose true value lies between $9.99 and $34.99. The system is set up in a way that it prioritizes games that you don't own, so you are more likely to land something that you don't already own.

It's also worth noting that if you spend at least $5, you will be given a free copy of Divine Divinity and if you spend $50, you will get a free copy of Blackguards. As always, if you already own these games, you can gift them to anybody you want.

GOG.com's Big Winter Sale will last until December 13, 1:59 PM GMT / 2:59 PM CET / 5:59 AM PST / 8:59 AM EST.

Quick Take: I've already dropped about $25 on a few games (and will likely spend more), so I can say for sure that GOG.com is pulling out all the stops with this Winter Sale. I wish they would let us know ahead of time what some of the sales will be, but I suppose that's part of the surprise. GOG's library may be limited when compared with the likes of Steam, but I can't help but shake the feeling that gamers are safer buying games from GOG long term, due to it's stance on DRM.

Published Dec. 4th 2015

Cached - article_comments_article_31258
Related
More The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Content

GameSkinny Newsletter

Get The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt news the moment it happens!

You have been successfully subscribed to this newsletter.