Minecon 2013 Tickets on Sale Starting Today

Love Minecraft? Then get ready to book a flight to Orlando, Florida.

Minecon is an annual celebration of the game Minecraft (and the developers, Mojang). Every year fans of the surprise hit sandbox indie game gather to meet others and get news and updates on the game.

The convention first started in 2010 in Washington State and since then has grown. It has been hosted at different venues every year, the previous two in Las Vegas and Paris, respectively. This year’s Minecon will be held at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida – my current hometown.

Tickets for the two-day convention are known to sell out quickly. Last year, tickets were gone in two hours. To create an equal opportunity for hopeful attendees, Mojang has implemented a batch system. The tickets are going to be divided into three batches of 2,500 each.  This is to give "an effort to be fair to people who have jobs or school and those with different schedules".

Here’s the upcoming ticket schedule, which can be purchased on the Minecon website:

  • Ticket Batch 1 - Wednesday, July 31 @ 4 p.m. PT / 7pm ET
  • Ticket Batch 2 - Friday, Aug. 2 @ 7 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. ET
  • Ticket Batch 3 - Saturday, Aug. 3 @ 12 p.m. PT / 3 p.m. ET

Attendees will only be able to purchase a total of six tickets at one time, but will be able to book hotels at special Minecon rates.

Minecon 2013 will take place on Novermber 2-3.

Published Jul. 31st 2013
View Comments

New Cache - article_comments_article_6481
More Minecraft Content

GameSkinny Newsletter

Get Minecraft news the moment it happens!

You have been successfully subscribed to this newsletter.