Upgrade With Impunity: Dragon Age: Inquisition DLC is Cross-Buy for Consoles

Jaws of Hakkon DLC now cross-buy for all platforms.

So many of us know the feeling - a DLC is released for one of your favorite console games, but you know that sometime in the next several months, you plan to upgrade to the next-gen console. So you agonize - pay now for the DLC, and pay again when you upgrade, or wait, and miss out on all the awesome content your friends are raving about?

It’s a dilemma all too common these days, as more and more console game players consider swapping out their old PlayStation 3 or XBox 360 for the newest model.

Upgrade Without Fear

Thankfully for Dragon Age: Inquisition players, that’s one decision you don’t have to worry about. BioWare has announced that the first paid DLC for its award winning game, Jaws of Hakkon, will be cross-buy on all console platforms. Players who purchase the newly released DLC for the PlayStation 3 or the Xbox 360 will be able to download the DLC free of charge when upgrading to a new PlayStation 4 or Xbox One.

It is important to note that the cross-buy promotion is only available to upgrades within the same console family. Players who purchase Jaws of Hakkon for the PS3 will only be able to access it on the PS4, and the same goes for the Xbox360 and Xbox One. In addition, this promotion is only valid for the DLC, and does not include the base game on the newer console.

Dragon Age: Inquisition’s first paid DLC, Jaws of Hakkon, released for PS3, PS4,  Xbox 360, and Xbox One on May 26, 2015. It is available now for $14.99 USD.


A life-long gamer, Ainyan plays a graduate student and devoted wife by day, and everything from a Guardian to the most adorable Pandaren hunter by night.

Published May. 29th 2015

New Cache - article_comments_article_23366
More Dragon Age: Inquisition Content