Halo 5 Arena features revealed

The inner workings of Halo 5 Guardians Arena

Halo 5: Guardians is just around the corner for Halo fans. Get ready to gear up and move out! With Halo 5: Guardians so near, Microsoft has announced details concerning Halo 5: Guardian's multiplayer feature arena. 


So, the first thing we'll touch base on is the ranking system of Halo 5: Guardians. There are a total of 7 ranks that are based on the Competitive Skill Rating (CSR) system of Halo 5: Guardians. The CSR is meant to provide the best multiplayer experience by putting up players of equal skill against each other. This is done by splitting players into the 7 ranks of Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Onyx, and Champion.

For players to receive their default rank, they first start by playing ten matches. After ten matches, the player will be placed in one of the 7 ranks. Each of the 7 ranks have 6 tiers. The only way to progress through the 6 tiers is to win. However, just as winning progresses, losing will make you lose CSR. Yet, you will never be able to lose an entire rank such as going back from Silver to Bronze. 

Onyx and Champion

These two ranks work differently compared to the other ranks. When you reach Onyx, you will see your raw CSR score. And Champion is a rank only given to those who manage to get into the top 200 of a playlist. Once you are a Champion, your name will be shown in the top 200.


Seasons play similar to arena, except they only last one month. Your rank will be reset in certain seasonal playlists, and the main purpose of Seasons is to see how high you can get in CSR before the reset! The top players will get cosmetic rewards.


The matchmaking system has one priority: the quality of a match. As we've mentioned, matchmaking will make sure to put players of equal skill up against one another. Also, players will never be inserted into the middle of a match. They will always start at the beginning of a match. 

What will get you the Banhammer

Next is a list of things that Microsoft will consider unacceptable behavior in the Arena.

  • Quitting matches
  • Betrayals or team killing
  • Idling (AFK)
  • Intentional suicides
  • Excessive disconnects

The punishment for such offenses will be a temporary ban from Matchmaking. Every repeat offense will increase the duration of the ban. This system was developed in hopes to help everyone to enjoy the Halo 5: Guardians Arena experience. 

Halo 5 Guardians is set for exclusive release on October 26 for Xbox one. Are you ready to challenge the arena?


I am a writer who is looking to follow my passions. I love gaming and writing, so one day I hope to write a story that everyone will one day play as a game.

Games Halo 5: Guardians Genres Shooter Platforms Xbox One Tags multiplayer
Source halowaypoint.com
Published Oct. 17th 2015

New Cache - article_comments_article_29227