Capcom Takes The Stage at the San Diego Comic Con

With a total of 29 playable characters announced so far, Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite seems very different from its predecessors.

Today, Capcom released a trailer that introduces four new characters for Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite -- including Spider-Man, Nemesis, Haggar, and Frank West. But this is the second set of newly announced characters, following Jedah's announcement on Sunday. This puts us at 14 Marvel heroes and 15 Capcom heroes on the roster.

The Marvel heroes currently are:

  • Captain America
  • Doctor Strange
  • Hawkeye
  • Black Panther
  • Hulk
  • Captain Marvel (aka Carol Danvers)
  • Gamora
  • Rocket Raccoon
  • Iron Man
  • Spider-Man
  • Thor 
  • Nova (aka Richard Rider)
  • Thanos
  • Ultron

We’ve also seen Groot appear in a trailer, but there is no confirmation yet on whether or not he’ll be playable.

Earlier Marvel vs. Capcom games focused on the X-Men. But now X-Men doesn’t have any representation. Cable, Cyclops, Gambit, Iceman, Juggernaut, Magneto, Marrow, Omega Red, Phoenix, Psylocke, Rogue, Sabretooth, Sentinel, Spiral, Storm, Wolverine, and X-23 are not in the lineup.

Now the team seems more focused on members of the Avengers. Additionally, Hulk is around, but She-Hulk doesn’t seem to be getting any love. And MODOK has not been announced as a character, but he does appear as part of one of the maps in the trailer above.

The Capcom heroes currently are: 

  • Arthur
  • Chris Redfield
  • Nemesis T-Type 
  • Chun-Li
  • Ryu 
  • Dante
  • Frank West
  • Jedah Dohma
  • Morrigan Aensland
  • Mega Man X
  • Sigma
  • Zero
  • Mike Haggar 
  • Nathan Spencer
  • Strider Hiryu

Of course, there isn’t room for everyone.

On the Capcom side, it’s a shame that the flaming white wolf Amaterasu from Okami might disappear from the scene. And while Chris Redfield and Nemesis T-Type stay from Resident Evil, \Albert Wesker and Jill Valentine might be packing their bags. Arthur could be taking the place of Firebrand from Ghosts ‘n Goblins. And while Chin-Li and Ryu remain from Street Fighter, it appears that Akuma and Crimson Viper might be going home. Darkstalkers has Jedah Dohma and Morrigan Aensland, but the cat-girl Felicia and Hsien-Ko have not been confirmed. Trish and Vergil have been left out, but Dante from Devil May Cry remains. Phoenix Wright from Ace Attorney is also nowhere to be seen.

This is the sixth Marvel v.s. Capcom title, but the new game focuses on two-on-two fights as opposed to the previous three-on-three setup. And they’ve added in Infinity Stones for a new gameplay mechanic. Additionally, this game will be the first of the series to include a cinematic story mode where the heroes and villains of the Marvel and Capcom universes must work together to take out Ultron Sigma.

Those who pre-order teh game will get the Warrior Thor and Evil Ryu costumes. The Deluxe Edition includes the 2017 Character Pass. Which includes six additional characters including Sigma and Black Panther.

Additionally, those who get the game for PS4 will also get the exclusive Major Carol Danvers costume. The Exclusive Edition comes with figures of Iron Man, Chun-Li, Captain Marvel, and Mega Man X as well as six Infinity Stone replicas.  

Marvel vs. Capcom Infinite will release for PS4, Xbox One, and PC on September 19 in North America and Europe. Japanese fans will have to wait until September 21 for the title. 
Are you excited for the two-on-two matches? Do you feel like the Infinity Stones are too gimmicky? What characters could you do without on the roster and who would you like added? Share in the comments below! 

Published Jul. 24th 2017

New Cache - article_comments_article_53457