Warcraft 3: Reforged Delayed, But Only a Bit

The Warcraft 3 remaster won't come out in 2019, but Blizzard has shared a new time and date.

Warcraft 3: Reforged, the upcoming remaster of Warcraft 3 and its expansion, The Frozen Throne, has been delayed. Only by a little bit, though.

Initially, Blizzard aimed for a December release, before the rollover to 2020. However, things don't always go as planned, and the Reforged remaster has been delayed to January 28, 2020.

We don't just know the release date, though. Blizzard are so sure that January 28 will be Reforged's release day that we also know the time the game is meant to be released: 6 p.m. EST/3 p.m. PST/11 p.m. GMT.

Warcraft 3: Reforged isn't just bringing the classic RTS and its expansion, The Frozen Throne, to the modern age with a new coat of paint. The game's balance is also being tweaked for this new edition, and it's getting new social and matchmaking features.

It's true that Warcraft 3 and The Frozen Throne both have stellar campaigns, but how the community will bring the Warcraft 3 custom game scene back to life will be the most interesting aspect of this remaster. We can easily bet on DotA's last version making its way to the client, but there are nearly limitless custom games just waiting to be ported.

Are you excited for Warcraft 3: Reforged? Let us know in the comments below, and take a gander at the official page for this remaster on the Blizzard Shop.

Associate Editor

Ashley spends all her time playing games, cooking, and studying languages. It's a miracle she's not burned out on the whole thing after being a game addict since '89 (I'm old, deal with it). Classic annoying Sega kid, still hasn't let go of Sonic and prefers arcade-style games. Final Fantasy and SaGa rock whatever it is you like, chump.

Published Dec. 18th 2019

Cached - article_comments_article_64725
Related
More Warcraft 3: Reign of Chaos Content