Kill demons and look stylish doing it with Diablo 4's expansive customization system.

Diablo 4’s Vast Customization Options Number More Than 8 Trillion

Kill demons and look stylish doing it with Diablo 4's expansive customization system.

Blizzard has shared new details on Diablo 4 character customization. You’ll be able to customize just about everything about your character, from how they look to the skills they use to how they travel Sanctuary. The details come from a recent developer video. 

Recommended Videos

First up is character customization. Creating a character is the very first thing you’ll do in Diablo 4, and Blizzard has given us no shortage of options when it comes to molding the hero that fits them. There are over 8 trillion appearance combinations in Diablo 4. Each class boasts unique hairstyle selections, but you can also customize eye color, body markings, accessories, and more.

Customization doesn’t stop at character creation. Salvaged loot unlocks transmog options, allowing armor to have the visual design and color palate you prefer, and Diablo 4 will feature hundreds of transmog options at launch.

After completing the main questline, you’ll unlock Mounts. There are several different mounts, which can be customized with Armor and Trophies. Any mounts you unlock can be used by every character in every game mode.

Naturally, it’s not just about cosmetics. There’s loot to get, too. Legendary Items can change your Skills and upgrade different aspects of your characters If you miss a Legendary item, no worries. They’re automatically deposited in a special storage tab in your Stash. Stash storage isn’t unlimited, though, so be sure to empty it from time to time.

There are also Unique Items to be had, though these can only be found in Nightmare and Torment World Tiers. Unique items are incredibly strong, but they do have drawbacks: the bonuses they provide cannot be transferred from one item to another through extraction, which can extract bonuses from Legendary items and apply them to other pieces of loot. You can also “reroll bonuses, increase the power of items, exchange Legendary bonuses, and add gem sockets to items.”

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Then, of course, there are Skills. Each Class has access to Basic, Core, and Ultimate Skills, as well as Key Passives and Skill types. Basic Skills can be accessed at Level 2 and are the bread and butter of your class. They provide resource generation, ways of increasing your mobility, or the ability to add utility to your character.

Core Skills unlock at Level 4. They deal significantly more damage than Basic Skills, require resources to cast, and are often integral in setting up your class’s combos. Ultimate Skills, on the other hand, are exactly what they sound like. They have a cooldown once you use them, but they’re exceptionally powerful.

Image via Blizzard Entertainment

Key Passives unlock at Level 32 and dramatically affect how your other Skills operate, allowing you to tweak your playstyle towards a unified goal as you unlock them.

Finally, reaching Level 50 unlocks Paragon Boards, an Endgame system designed to power up your character. Once unlocked, leveling up earns you Paragon Points, which can be used “to unlock new Nodes, additional Paragon Boards, and even Glyphs from Nightmare Dungeons that amplify the power of the Nodes on a particular Paragon Board.”

Diablo 4 seems built to let you build your character any way you like and continue customizing them as you continue to play. For more details, head over to Blizzard’s blog on customization.

Featured image by Blizzard Entertainment.

GameSkinny is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Will Borger
Will Borger
Will Borger is a freelance writer. His work has appeared at IGN, TechRadar, PCGamesN, Into the Spine, GameSkinny, GamingBolt, GoombaStomp, and FilmDaze.