Pilots must overcome daily and seasonal challenges to unlock cosmetics and ship components in Star Wars Squadrons.

Star Wars Squadrons: New Intel on Progression and Cosmetics

Pilots must overcome daily and seasonal challenges to unlock cosmetics and ship components in Star Wars Squadrons.

Star Wars Squadrons is almost ready for deployment, and EA has outlined how the game’s progression systems will work. As we already knew, players will be able to unlock cosmetics and other rewards, such as ship components, by playing the game. There are no microtransaction in Star Wars Squadrons (thank the maker). 

Recommended Videos

As previously noted by EA, Glory is an in-game currency that will unlock “most cosmetics,” which includes new paint jobs for ships and vanity items for cockpits, as well as new clothing for pilots and “different heads,” ranging from human to alien. Requisition, another in-game currency, will be how players unlock components for their ships, including things like hulls, weapons, and shields. 

Glory and Requisition will be gained through Challenges, Operations, and overall player level. 

Challenges fall into two categories: daily challenges and operational challenges. These work similarly to Battlefront 2‘s Challenges, where players must perform specific tasks, such as “complete X number of dogfight matches,” “destroy X number of enemies while piloting an X-Wing or Tie Fighter,” or “complete X Challenges before the end of an Operation.”

Daily challenges, of course, rotate every 24 hours. Operation challenges, however, rotate every eight weeks.

Aside from length, the primary differences are that Operation Challenges will reward players with unique, limited-time items and include what is being called Fleet Battles Rank. A player’s Fleet Battles Rank, including Maverick, Hotshot, Hero, Valiant, Legend, and Galactic Ace, is tied directly to competitive play and resets every eight weeks. 

It also appears that each Fleet Battles Rank has sub-ranks, such as Maverick II and Maverick III. Players can be de-ranked and demoted within sub-ranks, but they cannot be de-ranked or demoted from a primary rank, such as from Hotshot to Maverick. 

Player level is pretty straightforward and represents overall level. EA says that Requisition will be gained through “the first [40] levels.” 

We can’t wait to check out Star Wars Squadrons, which releases on October 2 for PC, PS4, and Xbox One for $39.99. It will support HOTAS flight sticks on PC and console, as well as VR for PC and PS4, including Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, Valve Index, Windows Mixed Reality, and PSVR. 

Stay tuned for our review, as well as a full slate of guides, when all wings report in. 

[Source: EA]

GameSkinny is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Jonathan Moore
Jonathan Moore
Jonathan Moore is the Editor-in-Chief of GameSkinny and has been writing about games since 2010. With over 1,200 published articles, he's written about almost every genre, from city builders and ARPGs to third-person shooters and sports titles. While patiently awaiting anything Dino Crisis, he consumes all things Star Wars. He has a BFA in Creative Writing and an MFA in Creative Writing focused on games writing and narrative design. He's previously been a newspaper copy editor, ad writer, and book editor. In his spare time, he enjoys playing music, watching football, and walking his three dogs. He lives on Earth and believes in aliens, thanks to Fox Mulder.