Tekken 8 Closed Network Test Set for July, Sign Ups Open Now

The first playable demo of Tekken 8 is coming soon as part of a Closed Network Test.

Tekken 8
Image via Bandai Namco

The Tekken 8 Closed Network Test is coming, and it’s right in the middle of fighting game fever. With Street Fighter 6 having just released and Mortal Kombat 1 coming in a few months, all eyes are on Bandai Namco and Tekken 8 to deliver the finishing blow that propels fighting games back into the limelight. Thankfully, the developer/publisher is delivering in the form of a Closed Network Test that will give you your first shot at sampling the new generation of Tekken.

Announced on June 9 via Twitter, the Tekken 8 Closed Network Test is exactly what the name implies: a demo version focused on testing network connectivity. While that’s kind of boring in and of itself, there’s some good news for fans just wanting to play the game. Going beyond just a simple demo, this Tekken 8 CNT will feature 16 characters and five different stages.

Tekken 8 Closed Network Test Roster and Stages

These are the fighters available during the Closed Network Test:

  • Kazuya
  • Jin
  • King
  • Jun
  • Paul
  • Law
  • Jack-8
  • Lars
  • Xiaoyu
  • Nina
  • Leroy
  • Asuka
  • Lili
  • Hwoarang
  • Bryan
  • Caludio

You’ll be able to select from these stages during the Tekken 8 CNT:

  • Urban Square (Evening)
  • Yakushima
  • Rebel Hangar
  • Sanctum
  • Arena

Tekken 8 CNT Sign Up, Dates and Times

You can head over to the Tekken 8 website to sign up for the Closed Network Test. There will be two test sessions for this CNT. PlayStation 5 owners will get early access to the network test on July 21, 2023, at 1 a.m. PDT, with a special test period running for three days, until July 31 at 12 a.m. PDT. All other platforms, which include PC and Xbox Series X|S, will then have their shot on July 28 until July 31 at the same time.

It’s worth noting that Bandai Namco will choose participants for the Tekken 8 Closed Network Test, and they will be notified by email if they’ve been chosen. Signing up doesn’t guarantee you’ll be picked.

There are a few changes from the final game in this network test. As detailed on the website, “Heat Energy” has been removed. The “Heat Smash” command has also been standardized across each character, likely because balance tweaks have not yet taken place. Cross-platform matchmaking will be included, though, so players won’t miss out on any competition in Ranked Matches due to their platform of choice. Stay tuned for more.

About the author

Peter Glagowski

Peter is a freelance writer with 6+ years of experience pitching, developing, and publishing engaging reviews, interviews, and features about entertainment (i.e. gaming, film) industry events and announcements.