Overwatch has made changes to how Competitive play works. Learn how the new queues and rankings work in Overwatch 2.

Overwatch 2: Competitive Guide — How to Unlock, Ranks, and Points

Overwatch has made changes to how Competitive play works. Learn how the new queues and rankings work in Overwatch 2.

Overwatch 2 has changed how its Competitive mode works. Now that Overwatch 2 has overcome some of its launch issues with the Account Merge queue, Overwatch veterans should be able to launch right into the new ranked options as soon as they boot the game up. 

Recommended Videos

For Overwatch 2, Blizzard has prioritized new players by creating a First Time User Experience (FTUE) that helps ease newcomers into the game. The game’s heroes and modes will slowly unlock as you play more matches. This includes the ranked Competitive modes, which are not unlocked from the start. 

Competitive Mode in Overwatch 2 currently has two separate matchmaking options, one for open queue and one for role queue. Each mode has its own ranks and progression. 

How to Unlock Competitive Modes

If you’re new to Overwatch, you are going to have to win 50 quick play games in order to unlock the Competitive mode option in the match menu.

In fact, regardless of your Overwatch 1 ownership status you will have to have won 50 games to qualify for ranked played. However, Overwatch 2 takes into account all Overwatch games played so if you put in the time to level up in ranked play in the original game you will most likely be able to jump right into Competitive from the get-go in Overwatch 2

How to Earn Overwatch 2 Competitive Ranks

Ranking works a bit differently in Overwatch 2 than it has in previous iterations of the shooter. In Overwatch 2, you get your rank only after reaching either seven wins or 20 losses. The rank will update either every seven wins or every 20 losses, making it a bit more of a longview approach than the match-to-match rank changes of old Overwatch. 

The first placement will determine your starting rank and you will climb and descend the tree from there. Each rank has five divisions you will need to ascend to reach the next division, so placing higher in the early matches is a net benefit. You will need to put in some time to climb all seven ranks in Overwatch 2. 

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster

How to Earn Overwatch 2 Competitive Points 

You earn Competitive Points by completing and winning ranked games as well as by completing Competitive Challenges from the Challenge list. You will earn 15 CP for a win and 5 CP for a draw.

These Competitive Points (CP) can be spent on Golden Weapon Skins for your favorite Heroes. You also earn large sums of CP by reaching new ranks in Competitive. The rewards for reaching the tiers are as follows: 

  • Bronze: 65 CP
  • Silver: 125 CP
  • Gold: 250 CP
  • Platinum: 500 CP
  • Diamond: 750 CP
  • Master: 1,200 CP
  • Grandmaster: 1,750 CP

And that’s just about everything you need to know about how Competitive Mode works in Overwatch 2 season one. For more on Overwatch 2 visit our guides hub containing all the news and guides on Blizzard’s latest sequel. 

GameSkinny is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy