WoW Classic Name Registration Now Open

WoW Classic's name registration is now open. Here are the times throughout multiple timezones.

Whether you're looking to relive the old days or planning to take your first dip into the vanilla World of Warcraft pool with the upcoming WoW Classic release, today's a day you've surely had marked on your calendar. It's the day you can finally reserve your preferred character names... if you can.

Blizzard has recently increased the number of realms available to players at Classic's launch, including a much-requested RPPvP server for North America.

Name registration opens at 3 p.m. PDT, which converts to the following timezones:

  • 6 p.m. PDT (Eastern, US)
  • 5 p.m. CT (Central, US)
  • 10 p.m. GMT (UK, EU)
  • 11p.m. CET (EU)
  • 8 a.m. AEST (Oceania)

At that time, the flood gates will open and players will be able to create their characters on their preferred realms, and hopefully, with the names they want.

Getting Ready for Name Registration

Before registration time hits, it's highly recommended you download the World of Warcraft Classic client. To access the client now, you can:

  1. Select World of Warcraft on Battle.net
  2. Select World of Warcraft Classic under its Version menu
  3. Choose to install the game

Naturally, some players will have the game running in advance of the name registration period, but they will not be able to log in until the specified time.

What You Need to Know About Name Registration

First: You can only create three characters during this period.

You will be able to make more characters when WoW Classic launches, but during the name registration period, players will only be able to create three across all realms. Once the game has launched, players will be able to create 10 characters per realm as per usual.

Additionally, you can only create characters of one faction on PvP realms. So no running both Horde and Alliance characters on a single realm; it just makes spying on the opposite faction for PvP way too easy.

It's worth noting that beta players' characters will be wiped, meaning any characters you've created so far will no longer be preset on release.

The time is almost nigh, WoW Classic is a mere two weeks away! If you've been waiting as long as I have, this feels like a dream come true. Rev up that B.net for later today, and look for more World of Warcraft Classic content here on GameSkinny as the game launches on August 26 at 3 p.m. PDT!

Associate Editor

Ashley spends all her time playing games and studying languages, and it's a miracle she's not burned out on the whole thing after being a game addict since '89 (shout out to Love Shack by The B-52s). Classic annoying Sega kid, still hasn't let go of Sonic and prefers arcade-style games. Final Fantasy and SaGa rock whatever it is you like, chump.

Published Aug. 13th 2019

Cached - article_comments_article_63630
Related
More World of Warcraft Content