Demon's Souls

Demon's Souls Box Art

Demon's Souls changed the state of RPGs when it initially released for the PlayStation 3 in 2009. Developed by From Software, the same development team behind the King's Field series, Demon's Souls became an instant classic, spawning a number of spiritual successors in the Dark Souls franchise, Bloodborne, and Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, all of which are built around methodical combat and dense lore.

In Demon's Souls, you play as an unnamed warrior tasked with ridding the land of Boletaria of the darkness that has overtaken it, ultimately putting The Old One back to sleep and restoring the land. Unlike the games that followed it, which are more open-world in nature, Demon's Souls uses a level system, with the Nexus hub at its center. Each of the game's five worlds is subdivided into levels featuring a unique boss, with the final boss of every world being a powerful Archdemon.

There are 10 starting classes to choose from, each with their own strengths and weaknesses. Some specialize in magic, while others specialize in strength and mobility. Players level up by spending Souls, the game's currency, and there are eight overarching stats to improve. These stats increase attributes such as HP, item burden, stamina, spell memory, fire damage, miracle power, poison resistance, and more.

Bluepoint Games developed a remaster of the game that released on November 12, 2020, for the PlayStation 5. It retains the core concepts of the original, though it drastically improves the graphics and sound design, as well as makes some tweaks to the game's combat, summoning system, and world tendency system. Other quality of life improvements make it the defining version of Demon's Souls.

Platforms: PlayStation 3 PlayStation 5
Developer: From Software
Publisher: Atlus
Genre: ActionAdventureRPG
Release date: February 5th, 2009
Subscribe: RSS Feed

Demon's Souls Articles