Get Ready For Splatoon's Beta on These Dates

The Nintendo Switch exclusive will have limited time slots for players to get a sneak peek of what to expect in Splatoon 2.

Early adopters of the Nintendo Switch system will be able to participate in a “Global Testfire” for Splatoon 2 from March 24-26. Players can download a demo version of the game to play in short, one-hour bursts across the three days the beta is available.

The Testfire event is Nintendo’s way of giving players a sneak peek at the new features available in the game, along with stress-testing the servers for stability. The original Splatoon also had a series of Testfire events before release.

Splatoon 2 Beta Dates & Times (US)

March 24
  • 12:00 - 12:59pm PST / 3:00pm - 3:59pm EST
  • 8:00 - 8:59pm PST / 11:00 - 11:59pm EST
March 25
  • 4:00 - 4:59am PST / 7:00 - 7:59am EST
  • 12:00 - 12:59pm PST / 3:00 - 3:59pm EST
  • 8:00 - 8:59pm PST / 11:00 - 11:59pm EST
March 26
  • 4:00 - 4:59 am PST / 7:00 - 7:59am EST

Nintendo’s squid experts announced that players will be able to test four different main weapons, including the new Splat Dualies and remixed versions of the Splat Roller and Splat Charger. Additionally, a Private Battle Spectator View mode will be available, which allows up to two non-players to spectate as “camera operators” to watch matches from different angles.

The first Splatoon was met with great reception and proved that Nintendo has the capability to excel in the competitive shooter genre. The sequel will feature local Private Battle tournaments through LAN, along with Amiibo support. Splatoon 2 is scheduled to release over the summer as a Nintendo Switch exclusive.

Published Feb. 14th 2017

New Cache - article_comments_article_49383
Related
More Splatoon Content

Get Splatoon news the moment it happens!

You have been successfully subscribed to this newsletter.