Featured image by GameSkinny

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor — How to Get All Map Upgrades

Map upgrades make finding collectibles and items so much easier in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Map Upgrades aid you in finding various collectibles and hidden objects across the planets and locations you’ll visit. From resources to treasures, you won’t need to guess where these are, as they’ll appear as icons on your Holomap. Our guide tells you how to find them, though most come from campaign progression well into the story.

Recommended Videos

How to Unlock Map Upgrades in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

At the start of the campaign, you’ll likely find yourself scouring planets and locations in search of items and materials. However, because of the game’s Metroidvania style, you’ll find some areas are blocked off.

Later in the game, though, you’ll acquire the means to explore these areas, as well as new ones. In these locations, you’ll find special terminals that can be hacked by BD-1, which will then give you certain Map Upgrades. Indeed, these will make specific types of collectibles appear as icons on your map.

Force Echoes and BD-1 Scans

  • Location: Nova Garon
  • Icons: Torn page or cracked block

Force Echoes and BD-1 Scans are objects that provide a bit of background that expand the lore of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor and the greater canon. To reveal their locations, you’ll need to progress the campaign to Nova Garon (which is at the tail-end of Jedi Survivor). There, you’ll enter Commander Denvik’s office. After the cutscene, slice the terminal with BD-1. Scannable locations will then have icons that look like a torn page or cracked block.

Screenshot by GameSkinny

Koboh Seed Pods

  • Location: Koboh (Rambler’s Reach Outpost/Pyloon’s Saloon)
  • Icons: Flowers

As you advance further into the campaign, you’ll unlock the Rooftop Garden at the Rambler’s Reach Outpost and Pyloon’s Saloon. Later, you’ll meet an NPC by the name of Pili, who will unlock Garden Plots. Once your fourth Garden Plot is unlocked, you can interact with the nearby terminal. Seeds will then appear as flower icons on your map. You can learn more in our Koboh Seed Pod map reveal guide.

Screenshot by GameSkinny

Essence Crystals

  • Location: Koboh (Alignment Control Center)
  • Icons: Circl with four-pointed stars

As you explore Koboh, you’ll encounter Jedi Temples. Once you complete all the puzzles in these Jedi Temples, you’ll be able to interact with a terminal in the Alignment Control Center. This will net you the Map Upgrade that reveals Essence locations. They’ll have a circle with a four-pointed star icon on your map.

Screenshot by GameSkinny

Item and Cosmetics Chests

  • Location: Koboh (Phon’qi Caverns)
  • Icons: Chests

Once you have all abilities and skills much later in the Jedi Survivor campaign, you’ll be able to fully explore Phon’qi Caverns. Your reward here is the Map Upgrade that reveals all chests. These will, unsurprisingly, be represented by chest icons on your Holomap. You can learn more in our Phon’qi Caverns guide.

Screenshot by GameSkinny

Treasures (Resource Collectibles)

  • Location: Jedha (Wayfinder’s Tomb)
  • Icons: Diamonds

For this upgrade, you’ll have to complete the entirety of the Wayfinder’s Tomb puzzles on Jedha. You should then see treasures and resource collectibles, such as Priorite Shards and Jedha Scrolls, as diamond icons on your map. You can learn more in our Wayfinder’s Tomb Puzzles guide.

And that’s how to find all of Star Wars Jedi: Survivor Map Upgrades that you can obtain during the campaign. For other tips, tricks, and walkthroughs, visit our Jedi: Survivor guides hub.

GameSkinny is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Jason Rodriguez
Jason Rodriguez
Jason Rodriguez is a game reviewer and guides writer from the Philippines. With around 5,000 published articles, he's freelanced for numerous outlets, including GameSkinny, GameSpot, Polygon, IGN, PCGamesN, PC Invasion, and more.