When Does WoW Classic: Season of Discovery Start? Answered

WoW Classic: Season of Discovery starts at these times on November 30.

A Water Elemental in Blackfathom Depths
Image via Blizzard Entertainment
Recommended Videos

An experimental era is dawning on World of Warcraft with the release of remixed and new content on the Season of Discovery servers in Classic. So when does WoW Classic: Season of Discovery start in your timezone? Let’s take a look.

WoW Classic: Season of Discovery Start Time

Hardcore has been making some waves lately, but Season of Discovery will be bringing a whole slew of brand-new features and surprises. More than a few of us are twiddling our thumbs in wait just to try out the new Rune system and shake up the class’ traditional roles. Here’s when you can start.

Season of Discovery Launch Timezones

WoW Classic: Season of Discovery is scheduled to launch at 1 p.m. PST on November 30. If you’re trying to calculate timezones, here’s a quick cheat sheet for the release timezones between North America and Europe:

  • 1 p.m. PST
  • 3 p.m. CST
  • 4 p.m. EST
  • 9 p.m. GMT
  • 10 p.m. CEST
  • 11 p.m. EEST

How to Start WoW: Season of Discovery

To start Season of Discovery, all you’ll need to do is download and log in to WoW Classic. After that, choose “Seasonal realms” in the realm list to start on these new servers. Of course, you need an active World of Warcraft subscription to gain access to Blizzard’s latest experiment.

The Realm selection screen in WoW SoD with two entries.
Screenshot by GameSkinny

What Can I Expect in Season of Discovery?

The launch of Season of Discovery will hold players to a Level cap of 25 — raised to 40 at a later date — and will feature the classic dungeons that vanilla World of Warcraft players had available, leading up to Scarlet Monastery as the final one. One dungeon, Blackfathom Deeps, has been converted into a 10-player raid for max-level players. It will be interesting to see how it’s been changed to accommodate it as a raid with the new loot within.

I’m most excited to get to PvPing with the new Runes as a Shaman. I can never resist being that annoying Elemental Shaman in arenas and world PvP, and Season of Discovery will be releasing with Warsong Gulch and Arathi Basin right out of the box. Ashenvale seems like it’s going to be the place to duke it out in world PvP events this season, too, which is going to cause a ton of fights between Alliance and Horde getting a little too brave near their PvP portals and reputation NPCs. It’s going to be a trip!

Now that you know exactly when WoW Classic: Season of Discovery starts, you can at least rest assured that you’re not late to the party. There are only a few hours left to get started. As we roll into this very exciting time for Classic fans, check out some of our other WoW: SoD guides here on GameSkinny,

About the author

Ashley Shankle

Ashley's been with GameSkinny since the start, and is a certified loot goblin. Has a crippling Darktide problem, 500 hours on only Ogryn (hidden level over 300). Currently playing Darktide, GTFO, RoRR, Palworld, and Immortal Life.