GameSkinny

We Love Games!

Titanfall Review: Do Not Fear the Titan

6
"Next-gen revolutionary game" does not immediately come to mind when playing Titanfall.

by

When the official beta came out a couple of weeks ago, I decided to give Titanfall a shot, considering all the hype that the game had been given over the past months. For me, the beta was impressive for that stage of developement, and I had nothing but high hopes for Titanfall being the true start to next-gen games. I wrote an impressions article about the game and all that had left a good taste in my mind about what was coming in the final release. 

Titanfall released March 11th, and in the two days of testing out multiple components to the story, or lack thereof, and multiplayer, I have to say it's not as exciting as I anticipated. 

Lack of Memorable Story

From what I gathered by playing through the Campaign mode, you're trying to get fuel and take control of points throughout the missions. Each mission is either an Attrition match or a Hardpoint Domination match. You have the choice to play on the Militia's side or for the IMC to take over certain important points across the Frontier. Between talking teammates and the action in the missions, it's hard to even grasp what the narrators are saying and has caused a lot of people to become confused as to what the point is!

While missions became mundane, the story is only an obstacle to extra Titans.

While the first couple of missions are fun and are very helpful in getting a feel for the game, most of the missions become mundane. You are just playing the same match over and over with no real progression in the story. I understand Respawn had stated that their focus was on multiplayer because single-player campaigns are often short-lived, but my question is why even have the campaign mode if the only purpose is to unlock certain Titans at the end--at least that's what it feels like!

Once you play through both sides of the story you, unlock two new Titans, and that is the only reason I would recommend anyone playing through those missions. Otherwise, if you don't care for unlocking them, then you should just go play the multiplayer. 

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2013/6/21/1371817765094/Titanfall-1-008.jpg

Multiplayer

The multiplayer in Titanfall is really the only reason people want to play this game, and it's been Respawn's focus since very early on in their development process. Overall, the multiplayer is quite entertaining. The developers did a great job with balances how many players are on the field at the same time and now the whole 6v6 cap makes a lot of sense. 

Excess Titans create a crowded field and make it almost impossible to maneuver. 

The teams that tend to win all the mission usually simultaneously get into their Titans and destroy the other team without much hesitation; because of this, the matches are not long at all. Once everyone is in their Titan, though, some of the maps can get a little cluttered. In one of my matches, I was unable to dodge the rockets of my opponent because I had two team members right behind me blocking the way, and two buildings to either side. If the maps were just a bit bigger, I feel like it would make room for some very strategic gameplay. 

Potential Competitive Play

The idea behind keeping the multiplayer number at 6v6 was so Titanfall could become competitive, but as it stands, I don't see this game having any real competitive value. Unlike other first person shooters, it feels a little light in that it's not too difficult to learn your weapons and know exactly what to do to win each battle. There is no real challenge or strategy to this game, and that makes it more along the lines of a casual FPS. 

http://fi.ign.com/pictures/articles/2377/89940.jpg

The Overall Design

Aspects like character design, customization, and level design were all handled excellently, but at the same time does not put this game above games like Battlefield or Call of Duty--it is definitely not the start to next-gen games. 

Have you played Titanfall? What stood out to you and do you think it's the mark of next-gen?

Originally Published Mar. 12th 2014

Senior Intern

Intern at GameSkinny. Graphic Design student at The University of Maryland Baltimore County.

Related


View All Top Videos
Comments
  • 10
    Andrei Manolache 7 months ago
    Contributor
    Nice game but get boring really fast. I hope they will develop something as a coop story-line gameplay, otherwise it will turn into a 30 min fun match and then it's back to more immersive gaming that keeps our attention pinned down.
  • 1
    Enjoy_Life122 7 months ago
    Hey Mike_5770, how much does Microsoft pay you to insult people using terrible 12 year old grammar? Thanks for the review Chizel!
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Thanks for taking a look at it! I really appreciate it :)
  • 1
    Ghh0st 7 months ago
    First off, I'm rather impressed that you expressed your true feelings towards the game instead of just regurgitating the hype. Second, I have played Titanfall. I think that overall, it's a great game but it lacks a few key points that would have really made this game over the top (in a good way).

    Matchmaking has been (for me anyway) glitch free and pretty stable, but for other players they're getting thrown into rounds with 2+ prestige players. If matchmaking had limits on who could match-up with who I think the games would be much more competitive and in turn relying on your team to work together and do well instead of playing as an individual.

    Secondly, I totally agree with you that some maps feel very tight and claustrophobic when in a titan. Especially when multiple titans are dropped and trying to go along the same route or get through a entry-way. While not all of the maps are like this the few that are diminish from the overall game-play and enjoyment.

    I don't know if it's just me personally, but when I used to pre-order games I would stay up all night and play them until I was falling asleep at my desk or in my chair. Titanfall while exciting, and fun to play, doesn't have that replay-ability like the Battlefield and/or Halo series, etc.

    Maybe it's just me getting older but that's my quick take on Titanfall.

    And last, I really enjoyed reading your opinion on Titanfall. I look forward to reading more of your articles! :)
    Last edited 7 months ago
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Thank you! That's a good point you make on matchmaking that might actually solve a lot of the one-sided battles too. Then maybe the matches would last more than 5 minutes a time. haha.
  • 1
    Ghh0st 7 months ago
    Quick question, did you explore using your titan when you're out of it much? While playing in your titan is fun as hell, a lot of the time I either use it to guard choke points in the map especially when playing Hardpoint or even Attrition. I'd say I play about 80% out of my titan after dropping unless I'm taking a lot of flak from a titan while I'm on the ground.

    And most of the matches that I've played in that lasted less than 10 minutes were from poor matchmaking (4 Prestiged players against low level non-prestiged players).
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    I usually jump in for a couple minutes depending on the map and who I'm playing against. If I see that everyone is in their titans i usually join them but as for exploring i solely do that on foot since it's easier to get around and you can cloak for a really long time haha. But yeah after, I just eject and let my titan fight an opponent and then I sneak onto the back of their titan to speed up the process and take him out.
  • 1
    Cozumel_5988 7 months ago
    Your review isn't bad but I do t understand the score as you talk almost all positive and yet rate the game a 6? Seems like you did that for controversy, I don't own an xbox one t even I know the game isn't a 6.

    The game will definitely last long, Respawn is listening to the buyers and implementing what was asked for. It will also be an MLG competitive game, read the interviews with top MLG players and how devs are adding DLC just for them.

    So yeah you no doubt scored it a 6 to get people riled up which is a cop-out, deny it as you undoubtedly will but it is obvious especially because you failed to even research what devs have said about DLC and mods for MLG competitive gaming.

    Writers should depend on their writing to get people to their sites not obviously low scoring a game, shameful.
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Hey thanks for your comment! But honestly I don't really talk about "almost all positive" and I didn't rate it a 6 to bring in views. I rated it a six because like I stated in the review, the story feels like an after thought, the multiplayer gets boring, and the graphics aren't all that "next-gen."

    Also I feel as though the game doesn't have any competitive value which translates into pretty much no dedicated players that are going to sit for hours and hours playing it. At most I feel that it will draw in the COD crowd and take over the casual fps market. I just don't agree that it will be a hit with the MLG crowd. What about the story and/or gameplay makes you think that it will? The story is definitely not unique.

    I review games based on what they are at the time of release. Respawn released Titanfall as a final product so that is what I'm basing it on. Once the DLC and mods come out then people will review those accordingly. So no, all due respect, I did not low score the game.
  • 1
    heavens hitman 7 months ago
    Yeah I've wondered if Titanfall would really turn out to be a competitive shooter, but the vid reviews (despite the occasional high score), looked pretty standard kill spawn, kill spawn business. The jumping mechanics kind of reminds me of the original Crysis multiplayer. But I can see Titanfall getting repetitive real fast
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Totally agree with you. It's really nothing too unique. But is quite fun for now!
  • 1
    Mike _5770 7 months ago
    Oh Yeah? You don't have to frightened Titan, But Xbox one Buyer. 타이탄폴 짱! 플스 4 병신! 병신! 병신! 병신! 병신! 메롱메롱메롱! 플스빠 꺼져 타이탄폴짱
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    ????????????
  • 1
    anthony_6592 7 months ago
    a honest opinion thank you chizel. i just feel like ppl are riding this game off hyp, i never played this game, so i do talk with grasp. looking at gameplay vids now that it's out, i feel that this is not a nextgen game, but it do look fun if only its for a month are so..
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Hey thanks! Yeah the game is fun but I just personally don't see it lasting that long, the hype and interest I mean. Thanks for your comment again! :)
  • 3
    Anthony_5766 7 months ago
    your welcome chizel. It's always good to get honest opinions about reviews. I feel this game will be fun, if only for a month are so,lol im not that good at fast pace fps's games no more. Battlefield took me and never let me go.. #honestopinion! Luv it=).
  • 1
    Mike _5770 7 months ago
    Nice Review. Congradulations. You got paid for Sony.

    COMMENT EDITED BY AN EDITOR. We don't allow name-calling.
    Last edited 7 months ago
  • 1
    anthony_6592 7 months ago
    why you say she got paid by sony? it's just her own honest opinion bro.. titanfall is not for everybody, yes ppl are different =).
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Nice typing skills. Congratulations. I totally wish I got paid by Sony.
  • 48
    Miranda Kirk (ChizeloffdaBlock) 7 months ago
    Senior Intern
    Thanks Anthony!
  • 1
    Saurian Dash 7 months ago
    Congratulations. You perfectly represent everything that's wrong with gaming today.
  • 3
    Anthony_5766 7 months ago
    well wishes chizel!=)
  • 60
    Fathoms_4209 7 months ago
    Featured Columnist
    Doesn't say much for the Titanfall/Xbox fanbase when everyone on that side appears to be illiterate.

Advertisement