Final Fantasy is Coming to Xbox Game Pass — Like, Almost All of Them, Kupo

"Have some Final Fantasy" Square Enix says to Microsoft, as it prepares to dump a bevy of Final Fantasy games onto Xbox Game Pass.

After what seems like an interminable wait, some of your favorite Final Fantasy games are coming to Xbox Game Pass.

We learned during Microsoft's X019 celebration that basically every series entry since Final Fantasy VII will be on Game Pass starting with Final Fantasy VII sometime in 2020. The rest will be added as the year goes on.

Not only that, but it appears the versions available will be the latest entries as well, such as Final Fantasy VIII Remastered and Final Fantasy XIIThe Zodiac Age. While some of these are already available on Xbox, subscribers are paying $5 per month for access to them all, as opposed to $20 or more for a single title.

Here's the full list of Final Fantasy games coming to Xbox Game Pass.

  • Final Fantasy VII
  • Final Fantasy VIII Remastered
  • Final Fantasy IX
  • Final Fantasy X
  • Final Fantasy X-2
  • Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age
  • Final Fantasy XIII
  • Final Fantasy XIII-2
  • Final Fantasy XIII: Lightning Returns
  • Final Fantasy XV

The conspicuous exclusions are the series' online offerings, Final Fantasy XI and Final Fantasy XIV. While there are apparently no plans to bring XI to the Game Pass, Xbox head Phil Spencer said the goal is to get Final Fantasy XIV on Xbox sometime in the future

Stay tuned to GameSkinny for more Xbox Game Pass news and updates as they roll out.


Josh Broadwell started gaming in the early '90s. But it wasn't until 2017 he started writing about them, after finishing two history degrees and deciding a career in academia just wasn't the best way forward. You'll usually find him playing RPGs, strategy games, or platformers, but he's up for almost anything that seems interesting.

Published Nov. 15th 2019

Cached - article_comments_article_64459