Sephiroth brandishing the Masamune katana in Final Fantasy VII: Rebirth
Screenshot by GameSkinny

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty Explained

Let's analyze difficulty levels for those wondering what is Dynamic Difficulty in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth.

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is out with four difficulty modes available, three of which are unlocked from the start. Let’s dive into each one and, most of all, explain what the Dynamic difficulty mode is all about. Here’s my article on what Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty is.

Recommended Videos

What is Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty?

The Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty is essentially all about enemies scaling to your level. If you’ve ever played Witcher 3, you’re familiar with this. As your party grows in power, enemies will also receive stat upgrades appropriate to your level. Enemies themselves don’t have a leveling system, but the game will always adjust their stats to provide a proportional challenge, no matter your progress.

Cloud landing on a platform in Final Fantasy VII Rebirth
Screenshot by GameSkinny

This means that if you’ve grinded all side quests and have become overpowered for a certain encounter, that encounter will get a power boost. Likewise, the game will also scale down encounters if you’re of a lower level than the fight is intended for. I highly recommend you choose this difficulty if you wish your playthrough to be fairly challenging throughout. On the other hand, if you’re a fan of grinding/farming and over-leveling, then I wouldn’t suggest this mode, as you’ll never be more powerful than your enemies stat-wise.

That said, there are other ways to increase your power besides levels. For example, your Materia setups, Synergy Attacks, or gear upgrades. This is the only way you can get an edge over the enemy in Dynamic Difficulty.

Can You Change Difficulty in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth While Playing

Yes, you can. You can visit the Options menu at any time and change the difficulty mode for your playthrough. If you’ve selected Dynamic Difficulty and it ends up not being to your preference, you can reduce the difficulty. Speaking of which, the difficulty modes in the game are:

  • Easy – a story-friendly experience where you won’t have to worry that much about gear, stats, and Materia.
  • Normal – the default experience where you may struggle but can usually finish some side content and get stronger, overpowering the encounter.
  • Dynamic
  • Hard – locked during your first playthrough, and you’ll have to beat the game to unlock it.

Overall, I would recommend starting the game on Normal if you’re looking for a balanced story/combat experience, while Dynamic mode is for those looking for that extra challenge where farming is made redundant.

That concludes my guide on what is Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Dynamic Difficulty. For more FF7 Rebirth tips and guides, check out our top 5 combat tips and how to unlock weapon abilities.

GameSkinny is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Gordan Perisic
Gordan Perisic
From playing RPGs and dungeon mastering for his D&D group to reading novels and scribbling about his fantasy setting, Gordan is a full-time nerd and devoted writer for GameSkinny. He loves to overshare and discuss literature, music, animation, and trees with fellow geeks. Also, he may or may not cook too much food for his friends. Cholesterol is one hell of a drug.