How to Save Your Game in the Shared World of Fallout 76

Fallout 76 autosaves progress server-side, but there are two ways to make sure your progress is saved when you want it.

These days, saving your progress is often pretty darn simple; almost every game you play will have some sort of autosave feature or a prominently placed save option.

Since autosaving is often designed to be unobtrusive, it isn't always obvious your progress is being recorded. On top of that, some games don't have any dedicated save options because either manual saving just isn't part of the genre (e.g. MMOs) or just because.

Since Fallout 76 is an online multiplayer game, it takes a play from the MMO playbook and autosaves your progress to the cloud whenever it wants to. There is no dedicated save option.

To "manually save" your game and have absolute control over when it happens, here's what to do: 

  • Fast travel
    • Load into the world and the game will autosave to that point
  • Quit game by selecting "Quit" in the game's menu
    • You can log out without quitting and it should save your game, but it's better to be safe than sorry
So when does Fallout 76 autosave?

Aside from the two methods listed above (which are technically glorified autosaves), FO76 transfers your progress to the cloud when you:

  • Complete quests
  • Complete certain parts of quests
  • Enter new areas on the map or enter certain buildings
  • At regular intervals as you traverse the wasteland

Hopefully this has cleared up any confusion you may have about the game's autosave functionality and given you a way to save your progress in a pinch.

Need help making the best of your C.A.M.P.? We've got a guide for that. Or maybe you're hunting down holotapes or are trying to hunt down ballistic fiber for crafting. Check out our Fallout 76 guides for more in-depth help in Bethesda's newest trip to the wasteland.

Senior Editor - Video

Published Nov. 20th 2018

Cached - article_comments_article_61025
Related
More Fallout 76 Content
Popular in the Community