Mortal Kombat

Mortal Kombat Box Art

The series takes place in a fictional universe that consists of six surviving realms which, according to in-game backstories, were created by the Elder Gods. The Mortal Kombat: Deception manual described the six realms as: "Earthrealm, home to such legendary heroes as Johnny Cage, Sonya Blade, Liu Kang, and Jax, and also under the protection of the Thunder God Raiden; Netherrealm, which fiery depths are inhospitable to but the most vile, a realm of demons and shadowy warriors; Outworld, a realm of constant strife and where Emperor Shao Kahn claims this realm as his own; Seido, The Realm of Order, whose inhabitants prize structure and order above all else; The Realm of Chaos, whose inhabitants do not abide by any rules whatsoever, where constant turmoil and change are worshipped here; and Edenia, which is known for its beauty, artistic expression, and longevity of its inhabitants."

Platforms: Xbox 360 PlayStation 2 PlayStation 3 PlayStation Vita PC Gameboy SNES Original Xbox PSP
Developer: Sculptured Software
Publisher: Acclaim
Genre: ActionArcadeFighting
Release date: July 2nd, 1992
Subscribe: RSS Feed

Mortal Kombat Articles