Minecraft: How to Get the Swift Sneak Enchantment

Want to move faster in Minecraft? Here's how to get the swift sneak enchantment.

Want to move faster in Minecraft? Here's how to get the swift sneak enchantment.
Recommended Videos

As of Minecraft version 1.19, also known as The Wild Update, Mojang has introduced a new type of non-renewable enchantment called Swift Sneak. It allows you to enchant your legs to move faster while sneaking.

This Minecraft guide will provide you with tips on how to get Swift Sneak since it can only be found in one dangerous location. 

Finding the Swift Sneak Enchantment

The Swift Sneak enchantment can only be found in loot chests inside ancient cities. You can learn everything about how to find and survive in ancient cities in our comprehensive guide.

Once you have visited an ancient city and obtained a Swift Sneak enchantment book, you can apply it to your leggings at the enchanting table, which can be crafted using the following recipe:

  • 4 Obsidian
  • 2 Diamond
  • 1 Book

There are five tiers to the Swift Sneak enchantment. Each tier provides a higher rate of speed increase:

  • Tier I: 45%
  • Tier II: 60%
  • Tier III: 75%
  • Tier IV: 90%
  • Tier V: 100%

It is also important to note that the Swift Sneak enchantment increases not only your walking speed but also your speed while crouching. However, the speed of crouching is increased at a lower percentage value.

Another interesting piece of trivia suggests that initially, the Swift Sneak enchantment was supposed to be applied to your character’s boots, but the final release demands that you enchant your leggings instead.

Related guides

That’s all you need to know on how to get Swift Sneak in Minecraft. Be sure to check out the rest of the Minecraft tips and tricks articles on our dedicated hub page.

About the author

Serhii Patskan

Sergey has been a freelancer in the video games industry for more than five years, writing for various publications around the world. His favorite games are MtG, Dark Souls, Diablo, and Divinity: Original Sin.