Forza Horizon 5 Drift Zones and How to Unlock Them

Forza Horizon 5 drift zones are back, but it takes some work to unlock them.

Forza Horizon 5 drift zones bring back a classic challenge from the previous game, but they’ll take some work to unlock. These challenges offer a chance to earn big points towards accolades and other unlockables, so it’s worth spending Horizon Adventure points on. If you're wondering how to unlock drift zones, it’s time to party.

How to Unlock Forza Horizon 5 Drift Zones

Drift zones are a type of PR stunt, but you can’t unlock them right away. PR Stunts only unlock after you’ve completed the first Horizon Adventure chapter, the Gran Caldera Expedition. This opens up after you’ve cleared a few races, even if you don’t perform particularly well in them.

After completing the Caldera expedition, you’re free to pick where the next Horizon outpost should go. The Baja region is closest, but it only unlocks speed tests and traps. 

Instead, spend your adventure points on the Canyon region to unlock the Full Moon Party. If you’re not paying attention to the map, the animation is a bit misleading. The Canyon expedition isn’t in the north, where the canyon icon is. Instead, you’ll travel to the far eastern coast and the area shown in the picture above to start the party.

This Expedition is fairly simple and just has you navigate a float through a parade. Once that’s done, you can spend your points to unlock the region’s PR stunts: Drift Zones.

Tips for Drift Zones

Drift zones are marked as red challenges on the Forza Horizon 5 world map, and as with the speed zones, you’ll need to stay within the flagged area to avoid getting kicked out of the challenge.

It’ll likely take a few tries to figure out which car works best for you when tackling drift zones. Some players recommend using fast cars, such as sports cars, since their handling makes drift easy. However, I’ve found it’s easier to control the drift with slightly heavier cars and had some success with the Ford Bronco.

Whatever you choose, make sure stability control is off, since it limits your drift ability.

Forza Horizon 5 has roughly 20 drift zone challenges. You’ll earn Accolade Points based on your performance, so it’s worth clearing them if you want to unlock more Expeditions and challenges faster.

That’s all you need to know about Forza Horizon 5’s drift zones, but make sure to check out our other Forza Horizon 5 guides for more tips.


Josh Broadwell started gaming in the early '90s. But it wasn't until 2017 he started writing about them, after finishing two history degrees and deciding a career in academia just wasn't the best way forward. You'll usually find him playing RPGs, strategy games, or platformers, but he's up for almost anything that seems interesting.

Published Nov. 13th 2021

Cached - article_comments_article_70516