Halo Infinite: How The Ranking System Works

Want to dive into Ranked on Halo Infinite? Check out this quick guide to learn everything you need to know about the ranking system in Halo Infinite.

You need to understand how the ranking system works in Halo Infinite multiplayer if you're trying to climb the ranks and flex your skills.

This quick guide will explain exactly that. How the ranking system works, what the rules to ranked gameplay are, and everything you need to know before you jump in and try to stake your claim as the top Spartan. 

Halo Infinite: How The Ranking System Works

Earning Your Rank

Firstly, there are six rankings through which you can rise, from bronze, all the way to onyx. Within each of those ranking are your rank levels, which you go through from I-VI. 

  • Bronze I-VI
  • Silver I-VI
  • Gold I-VI
  • Platinum I-VI
  • Diamond I-VI
  • Onyx

You don't however start out at Bronze I and begin working your way up. I mean you might, but you'd need to play through your qualifying matches first. 

The first 10 matches you play in ranked mode are to assess your initial placement. So yes, you could be assessed as starting with Bronze I, but if you're able to pull of some wins in your first 10 matches you'll likely find yourself higher up in ranking. 

You're awarded points for matches won and deducted points for matches lost.

The amount of points you're awarded or deducted is decided through how you performed in the previous match, though it's not clear how points are dolled out per action. 

A lost match doesn't mean an automatic deduction though, if you play well enough you can still advance.

It's also important to note that there are multiple different queues for which you can earn a rank. 

Your ranked queue determines what input device players are allowed to use, either controller or keyboard and mouse. There's a Solo/Duo queue, and a Cross-play queue. 

Cross-play is what it sounds like, cross-play with PC players and players able to use either a controller or KBM. Solo/Duo is where you can select to play against people using a controller, or people using KBM. 

So in that sense, you can technically have three separate rankings, if you use each type of input. Though you're better off just focusing on one queue, rather than trying to grind out three. 

After you've played your ranked qualifying matches, you'll be given a rank and good to go. 

Ranked Playlists

The types of matches you'll play in ranked are mostly the same as what you'd play in public matches. 

Strongholds, Oddball, Slayer, and Capture The Flag are all included as game modes across a few different maps. 

  • Strongholds: Live Fire, Recharge, Streets
  • Slayer: Aquarius, Bazaar, Live Fire, Recharge, Streets
  • Oddball: Live Fire, Recharge, Streets
  • Capture The Flag: Aquarius, Bazaar, Behemoth

Those are currently all that's available, but more will likely be added as the game goes on and be changed around. 

Unfortunately, there's no way to select just one game mode to play, and you will find yourself playing any of these game modes at any point instead of just say playing Slayer. 

Every ranked match also has a certain set of rules for each player, pertaining to your loadout and how you need to consider your shots. 

Firstly, friendly fire is on. So make sure not to hit your teammates, and watch your grenades during big chaotic fights. 

Every player starts with a Battle Rifle at the beginning of each match, and all other potential weapons are picked up across the map.

Hit markers for grenades are also removed in ranked, along with the combat sensor. 


That's how ranked play and the ranking system in Halo Infinite works. Currently, the game is still in a beta, so it wouldn't be surprising to see 343 change things up in a month or two, if things aren't working out. Now get out their Spartan! And check out our other Halo Infinite guides here on GameSkinny.


David is a Freelance Video Game Journalist who never got over how GlaDOS lied to him about cake. He only eats pie now.

Published Nov. 22nd 2021

Cached - article_comments_article_70590