Destiny 2: How to Unlock and Complete Challenges

Achievements and Legendary loot await when you start completing daily challenges!

There's plenty to do Bungie's shared-world shooter Destiny 2, and not all of the game's elements are immediately available from the start. While the previous game had Bounties, the sequel has Challenges to unlock and complete.

Although called "Challenges," they aren't as difficult to finish as you'd think, and are basically like a daily MMO quest, tasking you with killing certain numbers of enemies or taking part in specific events.

Below we explain how to first unlock and start completing challenges while on the hunt for the Challenge Accepted achievement. Need help with any other part of the game? Check out our full list of Destiny 2 guides here.

Unlocking Destiny 2 Challenges 

Challenges don't officially become available until you finish the Red War story campaign mission Fury.

After completing that mission, head to the Farm Overseer in the Social Space, then talk to the Warlock Vanguard Ikora Rey. She will unlock your ability to complete Challenges.

 Unlocking Challenges with Ikora Rey

Each day from that point on, you get three Challenges for any given Destination or Strike, and these can be of several different types:

  • Area Infiltration Challenges have you looting lost sectors
  • Activity Challenges might task you with collecting 10 of an object or completing a public event
  • Kill Challenges of course just involve killing X of an enemy type, sometimes with a specific weapon, or defeating enemies without reloading
  • Guardian Challenges revolve around using class abilities, such as getting 10 kills with Sunspots.

Finally, there are also Crucible Competitive Challenges that might require you win two rounds as a team or defeat a certain number of opponents with specific types of weapons. In the Crucible, Challenges are viewed by pulling up your Ghost ("Menu" on the Xbox or the touchpad for the PS4 edition).

Note that it's possible to complete a Challenge without even realizing it just by hitting the requisite kill count. Completing 30 separate Challenges will unlock the Challenge Accepted achievement.

Completing Challenges also grants Tokens to upgrade vendors and nab yourself some Legendary gear.

 Checking Challenges

How many Challenges have you managed to complete so far? Let us know in the comments! If you're stuck on any other part of the game, be sure to take a look at all our other Destiny 2 walkthroughs:

Featured Contributor

Ty splits his time between writing horror fiction and writing about video games. After 25 years of gaming, Ty can firmly say that gaming peaked with Planescape Torment, but that doesn't mean he doesn't have a soft spot for games like Baldur's Gate, Fallout: New Vegas, Bioshock Infinite, and Horizon: Zero Dawn. He has previously written for GamerU and MetalUnderground. He also writes for PortalMonkey covering gaming laptops and peripherals.

Published Dec. 13th 2017

New Cache - article_comments_article_54477
More Destiny 2 Content