LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga: How to Get the Collectible Detector

The Collectible Detector in LEGO Star Wars The Skywalker Saga is one of the handiest upgrades, but it'll cost you.

The LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga Collectible Detector is an essential upgrade, even if you don’t plan on trying to gather every item across the galaxy. At higher levels, the Collectible Detector helps point out Kyber Bricks and Datacards, useful items for purchasing additional upgrades or bending the game’s rules with "cheats".

This LEGO Star Wars guide tells you how to get the Collectible Detector and how to use it. You’ll need a few Kyber Bricks to get started, though if you’ve played through even just a handful of chapters, you should have some to spare.

How to Get the Collectible Detector in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga

The Collectible Detector is a Core Upgrade, which means it’s active at all times for any character once you get it, regardless of what class they fall under.

You can find the Core Upgrade skill tree in the Holoprojector, the middle of the third tier. You'll need to first complete one node on the top row, then the Health Node in the second row. The Collectible Detector has three upgrade levels, and unlocking each adds more items you can detect. 

Collectible Detector Upgrade 1

  • Cost: 10,000 Studs and 5 Kyber Bricks
  • Detects: Ships and Minikits

Collectible Detector Upgrade 2

  • Costs:25,000 Studs and 10 Kyber Bricks
  • Detects: Kyber Bricks, Ships, and Minikits

Collectible Detector Upgrade 3

  • Costs: 50,000 Studs and 15 Kyber Bricks
  • Detects: Datacards, Kyber Bricks, Ships, and Minikits

Where to Find Kyber Bricks in Lego Star Wars Skywalker Saga

You’ll earn one Kyber Brick for completing a stage and can earn a couple more by attaining True Jedi for a given stage. True Jedi is awarded when you’ve found enough Studs to reach the purple end of the meter at the top of the screen. You’ll also earn Kyber Bricks by collecting all of a stage’s Minikits and completing side missions.

Further, you can get x5 Kyber Bricks by destroying Kyber Comets found in the space areas above planets. There are also literally tons of Kyber Bricks spread across levels and open-world hubs that can be found y completing puzzles. 

If you’re meticulous, you can get enough Kyber Bricks to purchase the Collectible Detector after just two stages.

That’s all you need to know about how to get the Collectible Detector in LEGO Star Wars Skywalker Saga, but make sure to check out our other LEGO Star Wars guides for more tips and tricks.


Josh Broadwell started gaming in the early '90s. But it wasn't until 2017 he started writing about them, after finishing two history degrees and deciding a career in academia just wasn't the best way forward. You'll usually find him playing RPGs, strategy games, or platformers, but he's up for almost anything that seems interesting.

Published Apr. 8th 2022

Cached - article_comments_article_71668