Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Prestige Guide

Wondering how to prestige in Call of Duty Modern Warfare or how to unlock Officer Rank? This tips guide has the intel you need.

Prestige in Call of Duty Modern Warfare has changed. In the soft reboot of the franchise, we now have Officer Ranks. This Modern Warfare tips guide will walk you through what you need to know, including the level at which you "prestige" — or move from Enlisted Rank to Officer Rank. 

Of course, reaching maximum Prestige has been one of the calling cards of any hardcore Call of Duty player since the system first appeared in Call of Duty 4. The system garnered a loyal following, and each year since the release of at least Modern Warfare 3, influencers gathered together to race their way to max level.

How to Prestige and Enter Officer Ranks

However, that changed with 2019's entry to the franchise. There is not a traditional Prestige system in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare.

Instead, once you reach Enlisted Rank 55 by playing well or grinding (whichever term you prefer), you enter Officer Ranks, a seasonal system separate from Enlisted Rank, the base leveling system.

Here are the basics:

  • Officer Ranks last only as long as their season, resetting at season's end and leaving you at Enlisted Rank 55.
  • You will never lose your Enlisted Rank, meaning so long as you reach the base level cap of 55, you will never go below that rank.
  • Because you can never go below level 55, you will never lose access to any of your weapons, challenges, camos, streaks, or anything else you earned on your way there.

Previously, the draws of going through each prestige level rank were the various cosmetic upgrades and class unlocks you nabbed along the way. That's not to mention the general fun of going through the equipment trees again.

While you'll never lose access to weapons, attachments, or perks with the Officer Ranks system in Modern Warfare, you could simulate the process by taking everything off and playing with your guns naked. Not that you'd want to, but the option's there.

What Do You Get with Officer Rank Prestige?

Even with the loss of some progression systems, you'll still have content to chase after. All the standard challenges remain. 

  • There are still hundreds of weapon camo skins to grind for.
  • You're not likely to have every weapon at max level by Enlisted Rank 55, so you'll be missing a ton of attachments you can acquire in Officer Rank.
  • Daily challenges and long-term missions for XP, weapon blueprints, emblems, watches, and more are still available

Each Officer Rank season will also carry with it new unlocks, blueprints, maps, events, and other content that will become available over time.

Officer Challenges and Emblem Progression

As of writing, two of the main grindable elements found in Officer Ranks are the Officer Challenge and Emblem progression. Completing one challenge earns you a seasonal Ribbon, and when you collect 10, you'll nab a Season Emblem.

As you continue completing Officer Challenges, you'll keep collecting ribbons, and every 10 allows you to upgrade your Season Emblem one step. Reach 100 Ribbons, and you'll max out your emblem, evolving it to an animated version that signals your mastery of the season.

What's Already Dropped Since Release?

Right now, we've seen one large content drop, bringing:

  • Two free multiplayer maps
    • The small, frantic Shoot House and Ground War's Krovnik Farmland.
  • An additional game mode into the Quick Play rotation
    • Hardpoint.
  • Plenty of weapon tweaks via patching.

As of now, that's all you need to know about how to prestige in Call of Duty Modern Warfare, as well as at what rank you can expect to unlock the "prestige" Officer Ranks. 

The developers at Infinity Ward promise much more to come as the year goes on. Time will tell if the content will be worth continued player investment, but for now, things are moving at a healthy pace.

Need more Modern Warfare tips and guides? Check out these articles:


John Schutt has been playing games for almost 25 years, starting with Super Mario 64 and progressing to every genre under the sun. He spent almost 4 years writing for strategy and satire site TopTierTactics under the moniker Xiant, and somehow managed to find time to get an MFA in Creative Writing in between all the gaming. His specialty is action games, but his first love will always be the RPG. Oh, and his avatar is, was, and will always be a squirrel, a trend he's carried as long as he's had a Steam account, and for some time before that.

Published Nov. 20th 2019

Cached - article_comments_article_64439